In October of 2009, nine Federal entities including, the Department of Energy (DOE), the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ), the Department of Interior (DOI), the Department of Agriculture (USDA), the Department of Commerce, the Department of Defense, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) increasing their coordination to expedite and simplify building of transmission lines on Federal lands.

Leveraging this interagency collaboration and expanding the scope of activity beyond Federal lands, the Administration recently formed the Rapid Response Team for Transmission (RRTT), comprised of these same nine agencies.

As part of the interagency collaboration, DOE was charged with creating an online dashboard to track the permitting status of transmission line projects under the auspices of the MOU and the RRTT. This dashboard, known as e-Trans serves as the online database containing pertinent project information about each project including, but not limited to the physical aspects of the line, lead agency contact information, project schedules and required permits.

The projects highlighted below are the seven pilot projects chosen by the RRTT. For a listing of all projects being tracked on e-Trans, click the "Get All" button below or use the project search tool.

Export to Excel
Map of Transmission Rapid Response Team Pilot Projects
Pilot Projects